Blogging Bloopers

I was initially really nervous about having to start a blog and keep up with it because I did not know what I could write about. I initially wanted to start cooking/baking more and write about the good and bad recipes I try; however, I did not have the time to do so. My blogs ended up being about specific days in my life. Certain occasions that I found to be important to my story and I thought I would share what made them so special. I love the way my blog turned out, sure I made a lot of mistakes in the process but I did like the overall experience way more than expected. It ended up being a way for me to journal things without realizing that is what I was doing.

I think one thing I would want to improve on is taking more pictures. I am not one to take a lot of pictures and I should be. I would definitely take more pictures another time around so that I could post more personal stories.

I could have better promoted my site for sure. I could have posted the link to my blog on all of my social media accounts instead of using just one account. It could have been an actual link in my bio for all of my accounts. Instead I just posted the link whenever I had to tweet about it. This is because I get stressed extremely easily when posting things and I did not want a lot of people actually reading my blog. If I am being completely honest, my goal was to have the assignment graded and hope that no one else ever saw it. It just makes me uncomfortable thinking about anymore else reading my blogs. I think that is a sign that blogging really is not for me.

My best experience of the project was probably one of my first posts. I was writing a step by step quid to throwing a birthday party and in doing so I had a sort of epiphany that I would love to be a party planner/event coordinator. I realized how much I love decorating and the details of every occasion. In a weird sort of way, writing this blog made me realize what I love doing. I can not imagine a better experience than a eye-opening epiphany. This epiphany is for sure going to benefit me in the future because now I feel like I actually have a clue what I want to do. When I started college I had no clue what I wanted to do. I loved so many different things and had a ton of hobbies but I had no plan for the future. I have changed my major multiple times in search of what I really wanted and what would make me happy but never knew for sure. This project, this class as a whole, really opened my eyes that I am not a fan of social media. In fact, I am terrified of it. Social media makes me extremely uncomfortable and my friends always have to post things for me because I will have an anxiety attack if I were to write my own caption. This project made me realize social media is not where I want to be but party planning is.

Check out those numbers though…18 views, that is what’s up!

In the future I could see myself using this sort of tool, perhaps even having a blog for real, to keep track of different events I have thrown. Now that I have an idea of becoming an event coordinator, I can see myself having a portfolio of all of my successful events. It would have step by step instructions, decorating tips, pictures, etc… of everything I was proud of.

U..S..A, U..S..A!!

As you may be able to tell from the screenshots of my blogging statistics, I am not the best blogger. I did not get very many views at all but I got some none the less. Not to brag but I did manage to get one like throughout this process and sure it may have been a pity like because I mentioned her blog within mine but it was a like and that is all that really matters.

My most popular week was the first week of December. On December 1st, I got 18 views and 2 visitors. The most popular day of the week for my blogs was Sunday and surprisingly enough the most popular time my blogs were viewed was at 3am. That was extremely surprising to me that the readers out there are up that late. Over the the semester I have had posted 8 blogs and I am proud to say that four of them ended in a tie. Four of my posts all tied for the most popular post…I guess my two viewers just couldn’t decide. They each got a whopping 5 views each…I mean WOW! I think they tied because they were all just too good. No, but in all honesty, I think they ended with the same amount of views because it was probably just my two teachers looking at the blogs, so they are all equal. Sad but probably true.

Being honest though, although blogging may not be a big part of my future, I did not completely dread the assignment. It did not make me too uncomfortable and it was a good way to write down memories since I do not keep a diary. It was an interesting assignment and I am sure if I was more extroverted I would have really loved it! Or if I had a bit more interesting life. I do not have an social media stats that I would like to share because I probably have no stats due to my lack of followers.

Leave a comment